Lagat Breaks Wanamaker Mile Record

Posted by on Jan 31st, 2010 and filed under Featured, Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

The Wanamaker Mile is an event which is held at the Millrose Games in New York City at the famous Madison Square Garden. It is a one-mile race held indoors, which started in 1908, and was named the Wanamaker Mile in 1926. It was named after Rodman Wanamaker, the head of the Wanamaker’s Department Stores.

wanamaker mile

This race is also traditional for Irish runners to participate in and win. For example, there were Irish winners like Ronnie Delaney, Marcus O’ Sullivan, Niall Bruton, and more.

Eamonn Coghlan, who is also an Irish runner, had the highest record of most Wanamaker Miles won though, with seven wins. He was named the “Chairman of the Boards” since he ran on the wooden boarded tracks. This year, 2010, he was defeated by Bernard Lagat who beat his record with eight wins.

Lagat just beat Kiprop in the last round of the race and won with a time of 3:56.34. Bernard Lagat was born in Kenya, but is now an American who represents the US in different events. He was born on December 12, 1974 and has been participating in events for the US since 2008. He won the US Olympic Trials and made the Olympic team.


Leave a Reply