NCAA Identifies Wrestling Champs 2010

Posted by on Mar 19th, 2010 and filed under Featured, Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Session 1 of Wrestling NCAA Championships 2010 identify individuals that will advance to the second round, Thursday, 6 of which come from Central Michigan. The championship bracket belongs to  Matt Stantreiger(125), Conor Beebe, 141 pounds (141), Tony D’Alie(149), Steve Brown (157), Tyler Gryson (165), Ben Bennet (174).

Mike Miller (184), Scotti Sentes(133),Eric Simaz(197) and Jarod Trice(285) did not make it and fell into the consolation bracket. But before it happens, Mike Miller the 2009 national runner-up at 174 pounds won a pigtail match before later dropping into the loser bracket. He started the game with a historic win in the 184-pound bracket.

Steintrager won in an overtime match against James Knox (Maryland) at 125 pounds. He reversed Knox late in the first tiebreaker for the decisive points in his 3-2 tiebreaker victory.

Beebe won 2-0 lead over No. 11 Chris Diaz (Virginia Tech), then rode out Diaz in the second period to hit a 3:07 riding time advantage.D’Alie advanced at 149 pounds with a 5-2 decision over No. 10 Barrett Abel (UC Davis).

Brown scored three takedowns and two back points in a 12-1 major decision over The Citadel’s Turtogtokh Luvsandorj at 157 pounds. Brown amassed a riding time advantage of 4:14 in the victory. Grayson was in control from start to finish in a 14-4 major decision over No. 8 Shane Onufer (Wyoming) at 165 pounds.

Bennett advanced in the 174-pound bracket with a tightly contested 4-2 overtime decision over Lehigh’s Robert Hamlin. Hamlin led 2-1 after scoring a takedown off a scramble in the match’s final minute, but Bennett evened the score with an escape off a restart with 15 seconds remaining.


Leave a Reply